top of page
Writer's pictureElena

Homemade Pesto

Updated: Mar 15, 2019


 


I just love Pesto. Not only on Pasta, but you can put it over vegetables, eat it with meat, use it as a sauce or whatever you like. When I make this Pesto, I have to control myself, because I could totally eat this spoonful.



You can use your favorite nuts or seeds, herbs, cheese and oil. This basic recipe can be made in so many different ways. You can just make it perfect for yourself.

Try different variations until you have your own favorite Pesto. It is also great as a gift!

The preparations is also very easy and quick.


 

Ingredients:

  • 100 g nuts or seeds

  • 100 g cheese

  • 1 garlic clove

  • 50 g herbs

  • 150 g oil

  • 2 tsp salt

*see below for my favorite: the classic Pesto alla Genovese and other variations



Method:


Roast your nuts or seeds without any oil in a hot pan and let them cool down a bit.


Put everything in a blender or food processor and blend until everything is well combined. If there're still some small pieces of nuts or cheese, don't worry that doesn't disturb at all.


Put the Pesto in a mason jarred store it in the fridge for up to one week.


If you don't use that much Pesto right away, you can also put it in a ice cube tray; just fill each compartment with the pesto and use it whenever you need it!



Notes:


Pesto alla Genovese: My favorite is with pine nuts, parmesan, basil and olive oil.


Variations: I also really like it with cashew nuts or sunflower seeds. As cheese I think Pecorino or Gruyère tastes also amazing in place of the parmesan. Another healthy alternative to the olive oil is rapeseed oil and in place of the basil I also really like parsley, rucola and spinach! But as I said before use whatever you like.





 






24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page